Muffler ... what else ?

Open for English requests from all countries!
Zigomatix

Muffler ... what else ?

Beitrag von Zigomatix »

Hi all,
I'm french and I recently bought a 1989 250 NX, blue 27 000 km. It is my every day use motorcycle, I also own a 2006 Triumph 1050 speed triple.
As almost evry one I face the muffler problem.
I began to take off the stainless steel cover in order to check how deep rust went.
As you can see on the picture, the tube looking part is in bad condition. I plan to cut and take off all of it and replace it by a new metal tube.
Fortunately, I'm a teacher and some of my colleague teaches welding so I will ask them for help.
Do you think this is an option ? I think my muffler has already been "renewed", normaly does the stainless teel part is "One piece", including the back part ?
Thanks for your answers and help.

Patrick
Du hast keine ausreichende Berechtigung, um die Dateianhänge dieses Beitrags anzusehen.
Zigomatix

Re: Muffler ... what else ?

Beitrag von Zigomatix »

Hi, this is realy kind of you but problem is : I don't understand a word of german and on line translation suks ...
A will give a try again at on line translation but actualy I can't get translation and pictures at the same time ...
Anyway thanks for the reply.
I finaly manage to rip off the stainless steel part and news are bad !
I will soon bring the muffler to my work and see what the welders can or cannot do.
Fortunately only the rear part of my muffler seem rosted.
I hope I can keep the inside and rebuild the tube part.

See you
Patrick
scrambler
Site Admin

Beitrag von scrambler »

Hi Patrick,
welcome to the board. Sorry, my French is almost non- existent so we’ll have to rely on English ;) .
It’s possible to cut off the muffler and replace it with an automotive universal muffler

Bild